Posted by: Magistra | February 27, 2008

The Best and the Worst

Bomb threats are old. We’ve had multiple (all false) this year. It’s a waste of time, a waste of resources, a waste of just about everything. Every time, they find the students responsible. This time, they pulled them out while we were still evacuated. This time, it’s a couple of my students involved. (Or is it allegedly involved? Either way, I don’t think I’ll be seeing them for a while.)

To completely change subjects, my small learning community (SLC) rocks. I was randomly put in the right place and I’m loving it. Teachers talking about students, teachers planning overlapping or complimentary assignments, students starting to notice we want their best inside and outside any particular classroom – it’s great. The school has its problems, but my SLC has completely spoiled me. I can’t imagine ever wanting to return to a traditional comprehensive high school.

Leave a Reply

Categories

