Posted by: Magistra | October 10, 2006

Tim Tam Grand Slam

Apparently, I managed to get through almost nine weeks of school without ever telling Fourth Period I lived in Australia for nearly three years. I think this is some kind of personal milestone – it took 40 days of being in daily (well, 5 out of 7 anyway) contact before I mentioned Australia.

But the streak ended today. After yesterday’s craziness, we were back to lecture/discussion today, introducing demand. The highlight was definitely diminishing marginal utility. Why? Because I brought in Tim Tam’s. If you don’t know, Tim Tam’s are chocolate goodness: two layers of biscuit with a hazelnut filling in between, all coated in chocolate. I’m not a particular chocolate fiend, but these are amazing. Especially a Tim Tam Slam. (Take Tim Tam, biting off opposite corners to make a cookie “straw.” Put the straw into a hot beverage, and enjoy the melted mess.)

So I was talking about how much I want that first Tim Tam and about how great my willingness to pay is for that first Tim Tam. A second Tim Tam is still good, but my appetite has been sated, so the demand isn’t nearly as great. And a third, fourth, etc. Tim Tam is just starting to be too much. Everyone had a great chuckle throughout this part. And wouldn’t you? If your teacher was talking about chocolately goodness and how her mouth was watering? And (especially) if she hadn’t passed out the Tim Tam’s yet? Talk about focusing student attention.

I also used Tim Tam’s to talk about the other reason the demand curve slopes downward, explaining that because Tim Tam’s have this nostalgic factor for me, I’m willing to pay import prices for them, but if the price were to drop, then more of them would be willing to give Tim Tam’s a try. And then I passed out the Tim Tam’s.

I thought we had a lot of material to cover today, but students told me otherwise. I know that wrapping up about 7 minutes before the bell puts students in a good mood, but I’m mildly concerned that part of the speed means that not all the material was absorbed. Partly I’m expecting that (I think it’s hard to get a solid grasp of demand/supply curves until you’re drawing them yourself), but I also think tomorrow has to start with a bit more review than is typical. Partly for them, and partly because if we don’t, there’s no way supply and elasticity will take up the whole period!

Random Compliment I Would Never Expect: My handwriting (or rather, board-writing) is easy to read.

Leave a Reply

Categories

